Salute to Excellence

Congratulations to our 2017

Salute to Excellence award winners!


Special thanks to our 2017 sponsors,

and congratulations to all finalists.


Hear from past Salute to Excellence award winners:

“This award will allow our organization to fund our compassionate care program at The Refuge Center for the next two years. We would encourage other nonprofits to apply for this award and to give ongoing consideration to their compassionate care efforts.”

–Amy Alexander of The Refuge Center, winner of The Healing Trust Compassionate Care Award in 2016


"The Salute awards really help to validate all of the time and effort ABC puts into things like developing sound business practices and being a good partner. This experience has helped ABC reaffirm its commitment to excellence in all we do, behind the scenes or otherwise!"

-Casey Summer of the Arts & Business Council of Greater Nashville, winner of the Bank of America CEO of the Year Award and finalist for The Frist Foundation Team Building Award in 2016


"The most meaningful part of Salute to Excellence is the sense of solidarity and pride with Middle Tennessee's impressive nonprofit community. Seeing practically everyone in our field in one room gives me motivation to move forward in such a collaborative atmosphere."

-Michael Durham of the National Health Care for the Homeless Council, finalist for The Healing Trust Catalyst for Change Award in 2016


"It's very, very rewarding. Thank you and a clapping of hands to anyone who has seen a need and addressed that particular need."

-Clare Armistead of Friends of Warner Parks, winner of the KraftCPAs Board Member of the Year Award in 2016




The Salute to Excellence awards ceremony wouldn't be possible without our sponsors. 

If you are interested in sponsorship opportunities, please contact Chelsea Hardin at

To learn more about Salute to Excellence, watch this special video from the 2014 celebration. Special thanks to PopCause and the MEPR Agency for filming and producing!


  • Guest podcaster and blogger Clark Buckner recorded excellent 2-minute interviews with each 2016 Salute award winner. Listen to it here.