Salute to Excellence


     Congrats to this year's Salute to Excellence winners!

Each fall, CNM honors Middle Tennessee nonprofits with the Salute to Excellence awards dinner - the largest nonprofit awards event in the country. As a part of CNM's 30th anniversary year, the 2016 Salute to Excellence event was the largest event yet. This year's Salute took place on October 18, 2016 at the Omni Nashville Hotel. Click here for a list of the finalists.


The success stories of nonprofits and leaders in the community are the backbone of the celebration every year. These stories are captured by Earnhardt Films for the finalist videos. Find all the videos on our YouTube page.

What have past winners shared about the impact of Salute to Excellence?

"Winning the Piedmont Natural Gas award for sustainability has impacted Second Harvest Food Bank of Middle Tennessee in a very positive way. My teams work very hard to meet the needs of our community, but we don't just stop there. We also recognize that we have a responsibility to be good stewards of our natural resources. With that being said, winning the Salute to Excellence award was a great honor and validation of the success and impact of our entrepreneurs who are constantly thinking and working on ways to improve our programs for best benefits to our community - including people and the environment."

-President and CEO of Second Harvest Food Bank of Middle Tennessee, Jaynee Day

"The Board Member of the Year award gave Habitat for Humanity the perfect opportunity to recognize David McGowan for his longstanding and extensive commitment to advancing affordable homeownership opportunities for low-income families. Receiving the award was meaningful for both the agency and for David; it was a special moment to share with other Habitat board members in attendance. He continues to demonstrate excellence in his volunteerism with Habitat by sharing his expertise and taking the lead on special projects."

-President and CEO of Habitat for Humanity of Greater Nashville Danny Herron




The Salute to Excellence awards ceremony wouldn't be possible without our sponsors. 

If you are interested in sponsorship opportunities, please contact Avé Trotter at or (615) 259-0100 ext. 303.

To learn more about Salute to Excellence, watch this special video from the 2014 celebration. Special thanks to PopCause and the MEPR Agency for filming and producing!



2015 award winners

View the 2015 award winners below, as well as photos from the event.